Loading Events

Überschlag Festival

TCP is excited for our debut Überschlag Festival performance featuring Michael Burritt’s Since Time Began.

Michael Burritt served a vital role as a mentor to all members of the Third Coast Percussion ensemble throughout their studies at Northwestern University, and his compositions for percussion have become standard repertoire for soloists and ensembles. Burritt’s monumental new work, Since Time Began, was composed for TCP in celebration of the 400th anniversary of Zildjian cymbals — one of the music world’s oldest and most iconic brands — and was premiered at the 2023 Percussive Arts Society International Convention (PASIC). Also featured are exciting works by TCP collaborators including acclaimed jazz pianist Tigran Hamasyan, and composer and multi-instrumentalist Machado Mijiga.


Machado Mijiga: Situations Suite, Mvt 3 – Mastery
Tigran Hamasyan: Sonata for Percussion
Gemma Peacocke: Death Wish
Michael Burritt: Since Time Began
1. Alchemy
2. Campana
3. Homage
4. Revolutions

Click here for more information and to purchase tickets.


Michael Burritt’s Since Time Began was commissioned by the Zildjian Company in celebration of its 400th anniversary, and written for Third Coast Percussion.

Machado Mijiga’s Situations Suite was written for Third Coast Percussion’s Currents Creative Partnership, with support from the DEW Foundation, the Elizabeth F Cheney Foundation, the Sargent Family Foundation, and Louise K. Smith.

Next Show

Monday, August


Chautauqua Institution

1 Ames Ave
Chautauqua, NY United States

Chautauqua Institution

Learn More

Tuesday, August


Chautauqua Institution

Chautauqua, NY

Tuesday, August


Ravinia Festival

Highland Park, IL